No end to “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” anytime soon

The Washington Times is reporting that Obama will not be repealing “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” anytime soon. At the earliest it will be months, but Obama may not take action until 2010. Obama would like to confer with armed forces leaders and newly appointed Pentagon members to reach an agreement and then present legislation to Congress. The repeal of “DADT” will probably be a part of a larger legislation package dealing with a whole host of issues within the Pentagon, increasing the probability that it will be passed.

When I began reading this story, I was like “really Obama?” But as I continued I realized that it would probably pass easier as a package and if he did confer with leaders of the Pentagon; however, I don’t know too much about the legality of all of this, but couldn’t Obama just issue an executive order banning discrimination of homosexuals in the military just as Clinton proposed to do?

This story can be found here.

In other news, it is Sunday which means more L Word. But, alas, I have no Showtime, so I will be watching it tomorrow on SurfTheChannel. I can’t wait to see what happens between Jenny and Shane, as well as what lead up to Jenny’s death. Personally I think Jenny killed herself, but if I had to choose a character as her killer, I would go with Niki.

Bookmark and Share

One thought on “No end to “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” anytime soon

What do you think?

