GLAAD Awards and snow emergencies

ABC leads GLAAD Media Awards

The Associated Press is reporting:

“For the third year running, ABC leads nominees for awards from the Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation. The network earned six nominations for the 20th annual GLAAD Media Awards, with Brothers and Sisters, Desperate Housewives and Ugly Betty among its contenders. 

“The awards recognize fair and inclusive portrayals of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community and issues affecting them.

“‘How our lives are portrayed in the media doesn’t make a bit of difference, it makes all the difference,’ said GLAAD president Neil G. Giuliano.

“The organization announced its 185 nominees in 41 categories Tuesday.”

I am not familiar with most of the shows and films up for the  GLAAD awards, but I have seen Milk, one of the many film nominees, and it i definitely deserving of any awards it receives. GLAAD does great work and has the only comprehensive media guide for writing about queer people I have ever seen. 

I have seen Ugly Betty a few times, and the only time I every time I have seen queer people on there, they are acting in a pretty stereotypical manner. I would like to see what portrayal this show was nominated for.

Anyway, I awoke to a winter wonderland this morning. The University of Cincinnati canceled school, about 50,000 people are without power, and I may never get my car out; let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

I can think of worst things to awaken to.

I woke up to this today; I can think of worse things to awaken to.


Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “GLAAD Awards and snow emergencies

  1. ugly betty is an all right show, i guess. i used to watch it a lot, then it became boring to me.. i also wasn’t a huge fan of the scene when a character says “are you a hot tranny mess!” (a search on youtube just now produced nothing)..

    and my friend goes to wright state, so he is as excited as you about the snow! hope you’re staying warm and doing something un-college like.

What do you think?

