Rally coverage, chalking and T, oh my!

Following yesterday’s rally for a full-time staff person, I picked up a copy of The News Record, the independent student newspaper at the University of Cincinnati, and saw this on the front page:

Students at the UC rally for a full-time staff person grace The News Record's front page.

Students at the UC rally for a full-time staff person grace The News Record's front page.

In case you can’t read the top headline is says, “Ooh, that’s some pink hair,” in reference to Jac Stringer’s magenta mane. The people pictured are, from left to right, K.D. Miller and Jason Bernstein, organizers of the rally; Nate Wessel, vice president of UC student group Out On Campus; Cody Globig from Impact Cincinnati; and Jac Stringer, the founder of GenderBloc, is front and center.

The News Record also printed a letter to the editor that responded to the paper’s recent coverage of the anti-gay hate crime. The letter, written by UC student Jason Roberts, applauded The News Record for covering the event, but chided it for printing the term “sexual preferences” in a staff editorial that denounced the anti-gay hate crime.

Unfortunately, I cannot find these two articles on The News Record‘s Web site, but I do have a picture of the letter to the editor that appeared in today’s paper.

The letter to the editor that combats language that implies choice when it comes to homosexuality.

The letter to the editor that combats language that implies choice when it comes to homosexuality.

In other news, on McMicken Commons there are quite a few instances of chalking on the sidewalks. Most of the sayings are pretty similar and focus on sexual assault, as this is sexual assault awareness month. My favorite of all of the chalkings is below and was made by Alyssa Gates a member of Reclaim, UC Women’s Center’s 24-hour sexual assault help line.

My favorite chalking from McMicken Commons.

My favorite chalking from McMicken Commons.

I also came across this sign today. I know they are old and I have seen them all over campus, but they still crack me up every time I see them.

img_01361

These flyers were a promotion for a METRO/CWEST event that was to take place on March 13 in Zimmer Auditorium. This has nothing to do with testosterone, but that’s all me and my friends thought of every time we saw these flyers. There is also a promotional video about “t.” Whatever their “t” was, I am sure it wasn’t the T I was thinking of.

Bookmark and Share

7 thoughts on “Rally coverage, chalking and T, oh my!

  1. Came across your blog somehow (forget exactly how). Just wanted to weigh in with SUPER kudos for all that you’re doing on the UC campus… clearly there’s some work to be done and I’m inspired by the student avtivism you’ve covered.

    I also like the way that you’ve started covering it yourself (because clearly the campus paper has it’s own issues… no pun intended). I think it’s definitely a lot like where news will go in the future (citizen journalism at it’s best).

    And finally… If there’s ever a response to the press again, the AP style guide (a journalist’s bible) specifically addresses the language issue…

    http://www.glaad.org/publications/archive_detail.php?id=3869

  2. Прикольная статья, но хотелось бы поподробнее узнать о некоторых моментах… Как можно с Вами связаться?

What do you think?

