The Simpsons’ Krusty talks “he-shes”

Krusty from The Simpsons. Screen cap from

Krusty from The Simpsons. Screen cap from

 The Simpsons, to me, is like Shakespeare (Don’t stop reading, hear me out.): Both have the bawdy humor for the groundlings, but also appeal to the more educated set with subtle inside jokes. This is why I think the show is genius. But at any rate, the show had an interesting segment that involved transgender.


In last Sunday’s episode (It’s at about 2:30 on the video available on, a suit calls attention to the fact that Krusty Burgers are ridiculously unhealthy, so Krusty, a sleazy clown host of a children’s show, decides to put the food that isn’t in any of the meals, vegetables, “and [to] make sure it has none of those unhealthy, he-she sounding things,” meaning transfats. 

While this is The Simpsons, a show that pokes fun at everything, and it is in the character of Krusty to be extremely politically incorrect, I was still kind of surprised. When Krusty said “he-she sounding things,” I had no idea what he was referencing. When the suit replied with “transfats,” I was puzzled. I supposed transgender is a similar word to transfats in that they both start with trans, but I would never confuse the two words. But it wouldn’t be out of character for Krusty to confuse them, I suppose. (He did go on to say, “And sprinkle a little nicotine on the kid’s meals. Get them hooked early.”) Maybe I am so immersed in queerness that of course I would find this strange when other people wouldn’t.

I wonder what the writers were thinking when they were constructing this episode.

Bookmark and Share

5 thoughts on “The Simpsons’ Krusty talks “he-shes”

  1. Pingback: Friday Link Dump – Life Imitating Art Edition « Dead Homer Society

  2. This is why I am always wary of these types of shows like the Simpsons or Family Guy or even The Office. Some say that these shows are alright because they equally make fun of everything. But is that still okay? Doesn’t that still make it acceptable to make fun of queers, or make fun of people based on race or anything else. I mean sure a show that was completely politically correct probably wouldnt be very funny, but I still dont quite understand how people who support equality and are very socially aware watch these shows and think they are fine…

  3. If we say it’s okay to make fun of Christianity and bigots and other religions, but not us, then we end up the hypocrites (and possibly the bigots) in the end.
    That’s like saying, “It’s okay to make fun of anything else, provided it isn’t us.”
    I understand that we’re a minority, but still…

  4. Cait: The difference is that Christians are a hugely powerful, privileged group and trans people (for ex) are not.

  5. I’d be inclined to cut a deal with you one this subject. Which is not something I typically do! I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to speak my mind!

What do you think?

