Beth Ditto mouths off on Katy Perry


Beth Ditto on Attitude. From Koshi Blog.

Beth Ditto on Attitude. Photo from Koshi Blog.

Beth Ditto, lead singer of The Gossip and partner of a transman, graces the cover of this month’s Attitude magazine. Inside she lays into Katy Perry and her song “I Kissed A Girl,” a girl-girl, tongue-in-cheek anthem aimed a the pleasure of men. 

I hate Katy Perry! She’s offensive to gay culture, I’m so offended. She’s just riding on the backs of our culture, without having to pay any of the dues and not being actually lesbian or anything at all. She’s on the cover of a fucking gay magazine,” said Ditto.

I am glad someone finally said it! While her music may be catchy, her lyrics – rather the lyrics she sings – are demeaning to queers and women. Now I am an even bigger fan of Ditto!

Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “Beth Ditto mouths off on Katy Perry

  1. Is there a copy of the article online? I couldn’t seem to find it on the Attitude website or through a Google search, but I could have just missed something.

    I don’t hate Katy Perry’s “I Kissed a Girl,” and here’s why. A lot of women who are now out as lesbian/bisexual/queer went through that “drunk and making out with girls” phase. I think experimentation is sometimes an important part of the coming out process. I don’t see why we ought to discourage sexual exploration. Furthermore, I think it is dangerous for us to try to judge who is authentically queer and who is just drunk. The coming out process is a process and it involves many steps.

    I have had this discussion many times with lesbians, bisexual women and queers (who hasn’t?) and as much I hear queer women putting that song down, I’ve actually also heard the same sentiments as mine repeated over and over. We should not disparage the supposed “straight girl” who is “just experimenting and can’t *truly* be queer.” What makes her straight? The way she looks? The fact that she is at the club with a guy or she has a boyfriend? The fact that she’s not out (yet… to everyone)? None of those things necessarily make her straight…

    I’d like to note that some people actually enjoy being sexual in front of other people, so sometimes that can be a factor when a person is making out in front of another person. It’s not always about performance for one’s boyfriend or something. If it is just for performance, and if the women aren’t enjoying it too, I think that’s wrong. But my guess is that this is the case far less frequently than some people might think.

    My experience has been that once girls start to kiss other girls, there is a high chance that they will eventually come out as queer in some degree, or they will at least be aware of their “heteroflexibility” and perhaps be open to being with women in the future. And I ought to know… I went to Smith College. Hahaha.

    The fact is that human sexuality cannot truly be contained by our labels – lesbian, bisexual, etc., and I’m not sure it should have to be.

    I love Beth Ditto and I’m disappointed that she doesn’t recognize the dimensions that this song can contain. I know that Katy Perry has said some great things about queers. That’s why I wanted to read the article, to see the details.

What do you think?

