Drag queen Catholic priest has hit song

Big Mama Carpetta by night, Father Anthony by day. Photo from The Advocate.

Big Mama Capretta by night, Father Anthony by day. Photo from The Advocate.

This is too good to be true: Right Music is reporting that a Columbus, Ohio, Catholic priest, Father Anthony, moonlights as the drag queen Big Mama Capretta. But not only that, the queen has a single that is currently No. 25 on Billboard’s Club Play dance chart called “Big Mama’s House.”

Capretta explained, “It’s Big Mama, y’all! And I am no longer afraid to come out of the closet as a gay Catholic priest! … I am enjoying my life being who I am and who God intended me to be! Now let’s dance, y’all!”

Capretta also acknowledged the dance music community for embracing the music right away: “Thank you everyone for buying, playing and charting ‘Big Mama’s House.’ I am living proof that a person can do anything they set their mind to. We have to love and enjoy ourselves in this world.”

“Big Mama’s House” music video

Bookmark and Share

6 thoughts on “Drag queen Catholic priest has hit song

  1. what does this ‘father’ say about 1 cor 6:9-11… i don’t hate him or others who feel this way, but it is not what God has intended, it is what another god exploits… truely giving oneself to God is seeking his appoval, not our own satisfaction.

  2. I think its hilarious (although the song he sings is kind of shitty). But hes a Roman Catholic priest, while I am sure that the clergy is not aptly checking gay blogs, they are going to catch wind of this at some point and things cant go well from there. You think dont ask dont tell is bad, in Catholocism its a sin to even think it. Once the Catholics catch wind of this, this priest is going to lose his collar.

  3. That is great! I wish that more priests were that open. I sometimes feel that I shouldn’t go to church, because I “don’t feel like I belong”. If there was a congregation in my town like yours, I wouldn’t hesitate a bit! Thank you for being so open and for having the courage to be yourself. I’m sure that you’ve helped a lot of people!

What do you think?

