All The Writers I Know spotlights queer poets and storytellers

In December I read some of my poetry and short stories at All The Writers I Know, a Chicago queer literary showcase hosted by Southside Hub of Production. I shared my work alongside some other very talented queers—including Kelsey Schultz, Dee MichelPatrick Gill, Rosy Phinick and Mar Curran.

Because it was close to the holidays, the theme for the night was family: blood and chosen. I read pieces on femme visibility, alcoholism, poverty, fighting and friends. Other writers covered coming out, kooky kin, redefining family, body positivity, and name and pronoun preference.

I was all femmed out while sharing poems and short stories about family at All The Writers I Know.

All The Writers I Know was also featured in The Reader and Redeye. Not too shabby, considering this was the second installment of the series.

The Chicago Center for Literature and Photography recorded the reading as a podcast. Listen below, on iTunes or CCLAP’s website. I start at the 18:45 mark, but the entire show is worth checking out.

More photos from All The Writers I Know are on Stuff Queer People Need To Know’s Facebook page.

4 thoughts on “All The Writers I Know spotlights queer poets and storytellers

  1. damn girl, you’ve never shared your personal writing with me before, but this is fucking impressive. I am so glad I got to hear that.

  2. Pingback: My femme poem is in the new “Chicago IRL” « Stuff Queer People Need To Know

What do you think?

